This Scary Loophole In iPhone Apps Could Seriously Compromise Your Privacy

Posted by Sughra Hafeez in Science and Technology On 28th October 2017
ADVERTISEMENT

#5

Once allowed, it has to be turned off via the settings menu.

ADVERTISEMENT

#6

Felix Krause aims to inform people about this loophole. He says, “If you think about the average social media app or messaging service, they could, in theory, access your camera anytime the app is running. Apple will check for this in the app review probably, but developers could find a way around it.”

#7

The iPhone gives no indication that the camera is being used or that the photos are being uploaded to the internet.

ADVERTISEMENT

#8

"iOS users often grant camera access to an app soon after they download it (e.g., to add an avatar or send a photo)," he wrote in a blog post.

ADVERTISEMENT
Previous
Page 2 Of 5
Next

Your thoughts?

Sponsored Content

ADVERTISEMENT