This Scary Loophole In iPhone Apps Could Seriously Compromise Your Privacy

Posted by Sughra Hafeez in Science and Technology On 28th October 2017
ADVERTISEMENT

Staying on top of the latest technology is something that’s important to a lot of people – especially when it comes to cell phones. Googler Felix Krause has uncovered a worrying setting in iOS.

#1

An Austrian developer created an app called 'watch.user' that is capable of taking pictures of its user every second and upload them without notifying them in any way.

ADVERTISEMENT

#2

He called it a "privacy loophole that can be abused by iOS apps".

#3

Unilad says that “once you grant an app access to your camera, it can unleash Black Mirror-style hell, with the power to ‘access both the front and the back camera, record you at any time the app is in the foreground’ and ‘take pictures and videos without telling you.”

ADVERTISEMENT

#4

When an app wants to access the camera, for example, to scan a credit card or take a profile picture during the set-up process, the iPhone user must give the app permission, in the same way, that apps must ask to access the camera roll, location and contacts and to send notifications.

ADVERTISEMENT
Page 1 Of 5
Next

Your thoughts?

Sponsored Content

ADVERTISEMENT